Working in Tracking changes mode
Note
This is a Beta feature.
Once you have enabled Tracking changes mode in XTM Workbench, all target segment changes that you make, in Tracking changes mode, are tracked.
Note
Target segment changes made in Editing mode are NOT displayed as tracked changes, even after you switch to Tracking changes mode.
Target segment changes made in Tracking changes mode ARE displayed as tracked changes, even after you switch to Editing mode. This means you can also accept or reject tracked changes in Editing mode.
Changes are stored and displayed accordingly when you or another XTM Workbench user perform certain actions in the relevant target segment in Tracking changes mode. If the text is:
added – the new content is formatted as green underlined text. When you hover over it, the relevant tracked change has a green frame, and additional information is displayed about who has made this change and when. This information is displayed to all XTM Workbench users in all working modes. However, the user details that you see depend on the Information to display about users privacy settings made by your XTM Cloud Administrator (for details, see Privacy settings).
deleted – the deleted content is formatted as red strikethrough text. When you hover over it, the relevant tracked change has a red frame, and additional information is displayed about who has made this change and when. This information is displayed to all XTM Workbench users in all working modes. However, user details that you see depend on the Information to display about users privacy settings made by your XTM Cloud Administrator (for details, see Privacy settings).
If you:
insert some new content in an empty target segment, the new content is formatted as added text.
add some new content to the existing content, the new content is formatted as added text.
paste the relevant text into the target segment, the new content is formatted as added text.
replace existing content by selecting it and typing new content, the new content is formatted as added text. The replaced content is formatted as deleted text.
select the relevant content and then drag and drop it into the same segment, or if you use the cut and paste shortcuts on your keyboard, to paste it into the same segment, the content that you have cut is formatted as deleted text. The content that you have pasted is formatted as added text.
delete an existing content, in the target segment, by using the Backspace or Delete keyboard button – you can either select the entire relevant content and then press one of these buttons, or delete it by pressing one of these buttons multiple times, the deleted content is formatted as deleted text.
These changes will be highlighted until you or another XTM Workbench user:
accept them. For details, see Accepting tracked changes.
reject them. For details, see Rejecting tracked changes.
Important
Until you or another XTM Workbench user accept or reject all tracked changes that are present in particular segments, those segments are NOT saved or updated in the translation memory (TM).
Also, segments containing tracked changes will not be displayed in project files (including preview and target files) until all changes have either been accepted or rejected.