Creating workflow definitions
To access the existing Workflow definitions, as a user with the XTM Cloud Administrator role, select Configuration > Settings > Workflow > Workflow definitions.
Select Configuration > Settings > Workflow.
In the Workflow definitions tab, select the Add button.
Result: the Create workflow definition popup is displayed.
In the Create workflow definition popup:
Select a unique Name for your new workflow definition. This step is mandatory.
Note
By default, XTM Cloud automatically generates a name for the workflow based on the steps you choose.
Optionally, in the Description field, provide a workflow description.
From the dropdown, select the required workflow step.
Note
You can define your own workflow steps. For details, see Workflow steps and Workflow steps parameters.
The workflow step categories are:
Translate.
Correct.
Review.
LQA.
Non-CAT tool process.
Automatic.
If you have these AI-based features in your XTM Cloud instance, you can create one or more automatic steps that leverage these features (for details, see Workflow step settings) and add them to your workflow definition. These features are:
The AI Post-Edit feature. For details, see Global AI Post-Edit settings.
Business use case
The AI Post-Edit feature helps you reduce post-editing time and cost while ensuring that the final output meets your required quality standards. A key benefit is its flexibility: an automatic workflow step enables Project Managers to use Large Language Models (LLMs) to enhance various outputs, including human translation (HT), machine translation (MT), and LLM-generated translation. It can be used in either fully automated (LLM-only) or hybrid workflows (HT/MT + LLM).
The AI Post-Edit feature leverages XTM Cloud’s resources. It sends the Translation Memory (TM) for reference and has access to your terminology. Because of this, it can adjust the content's tone and voice automatically, while ensuring that the high-quality output adheres to company terminology and brand voice.
Note
If required, changes to the target segment made by the AI Post-Edit feature can be reverted. To do so, use the workflow rollback feature. For details, see Rollback to a previous step in the workflow.
The TQI feature. For details, see Global TQI settings.
Business use case
The TQI feature provides you with quality scores based on configurable thresholds and context-aware translation analysis in line with your terminology, translation memory, and Style guides. This helps you reduce translation costs and improve workflow efficiency by enabling Linguists to focus exclusively on translations that really require post-editing or human intervention.
Define the required workflow step options for the new workflow step. The options that you see depend on the type of workflow step that you have selected. They can be:
Note
There are no additional options for automatic steps.
Percentage of whole workflow duration – how much of the entire project workflow time in percent should be automatically calculated for each of the steps
Approve TM.
Calculate costs based on manual time.
Chargeable.
LQA.
Notify project watchers when finished.
Calculate edit distance.
Set XTM status to green/done.
Auto-finish step on its due date.
All segments must be completed to finish the task – If you select this option, Linguists will not be able to finish a task until all segments are completed, neither using the Finish button, in XTM Workbench nor using a keyboard shortcut.
Important
If target segments in the relevant project have been populated with ICE and/or leveraged matches, but not set to Completed, they can be locked manually or by the Mark segments as locked when option. If these segments are locked in this way, Linguists will not be able to finish the task until these segments are unlocked and set to Completed.
If required, add a new step by selecting the add field icon
. Then, repeat steps 3c and 3d for the newly added step.If you have added a new workflow step, from the dropdown, select the transition type between the new and its preceding step. For details, see Blocking mechanism between workflow steps.
Once you have added all required steps, at the bottom of the popup, select Save.