Skip to main content

XTM Cloud 26.2

Moving selected jobs forwards in the Manage jobs view

If required, you can move jobs forwards in the workflow. For example, you might do this if you are certain that work on the current step has already been finished, and the Linguist forgot to finish the task at their end. However, certain criteria must be met:

  • You can only move a job forwards if its workflow has been started. For details, see Starting workflow in the Manage jobs view.

  • You cannot move a job forwards if its workflow has already been finished.

  • For subcontracted projects:

    • a contractor can only move workflow forwards between the steps that they own, not the workflow steps that have been added by the subcontractor (LSP).

    • an LSP can only move the workflow between steps assigned to or created by them, and only if the workflow step assigned to them is currently active. They cannot move the workflow if a workflow step assigned to the contractor or another subcontractor is currently active.

    • if a subcontractor assigns the project to another LSP, any workflow editing (including moving the workflow forwards) remains blocked, the same like in the Old Workflow Editor.

There are many ways to move jobs forwards in the relevant project. You can:

  • move many selected jobs forwards at the same time, no matter whether they have the same target language or different target languages. The selected jobs do not need to share the same workflow definition. If they meet the criteria described above, they will be moved to the next workflow step. To do so, follow the procedure below.

  • bulk-move all jobs in the selected target language forwards. The jobs do not need to have the same workflow definition. If they meet the criteria described above, they will be moved to the next workflow step. For details, see Moving all jobs in a selected target language forwards in the Overview screen.

  • move a single job forwards. For details, see Moving a single job forwards in the Manage jobs view.

Procedure. To move selected jobs forwards in the Manage jobs view:
  1. For the relevant project, open the Project Editor – kanban_gray_solid_brand_refreshed.svg Workflow tab screen.

  2. Ensure that you are working in the Beta Workflow Editor. If you are not, enable it. For details, see Enabling the Beta Workflow Editor.

  3. Display the relevant jobs in the Manage jobs view. For details, see Viewing jobs in the Manage jobs view.

    Result: You are redirected to the Manage jobs view.

  4. If necessary, filter the displayed results. For details, see Filtering jobs in the Manage jobs view.

    You can also use the search box to display only the relevant jobs. For details, see Searching for jobs in the Manage jobs view.

  5. Use checkboxes in the table, in the Manage jobs view, to select the relevant jobs whose workflow you want to progress. You can:

    • move forwards all jobs displayed on the current table page, in the Manage jobs view. To do so, select the checkbox in the table header.

    • move forwards all jobs in the project, displayed on all pages, in the Manage jobs view. To do so, select the checkbox in the table header. Then, select the Select all [number] jobs on all pages button that is displayed above the table when you select the checkbox in the table header. Now you can bulk-move all jobs listed in the Manage jobs view, on all pages.

    • select one or more checkboxes on the same table page to only move the selected jobs forwards.

    • move forwards one or more jobs that are displayed on different table pages. To do so, first, display the relevant jobs on the same page. You can either adjust the number of entries that will be displayed on one page or filter jobs to ensure you see all relevant jobs on the same page, in the table, in the Manage jobs view. Next, select the checkboxes for all required jobs.

  6. After you have selected all required jobs, select the Move jobs button at the top of the table.

  7. Select Forwards.

Result: all selected jobs that meet the required criteria (mentioned at the beginning of this topic) are moved forwards to the next workflow step. This means that:

  • the previous workflow step is marked as completed, and a Linguist who has been assigned to this step can no longer access the content in XTM Workbench.

  • the next workflow step is now active, and if there is a Linguist assigned to this step, they can already work on the content in XTM Workbench.

  • if the closed step has been the last step in the workflow, the whole job is marked as finished. In that case, it is not possible to simply move the workflow backwards to reopen the closed step. If you want to: