Moving a single job forwards in the Manage jobs view
If required, you can move jobs forwards in the workflow. For example, you might do this if you are certain that work on the current step has already been finished, and the Linguist forgot to finish the task at their end. However, certain criteria must be met:
You can only move a job forwards if its workflow has been started. For details, see Starting workflow in the Manage jobs view.
You cannot move a job forwards if its workflow has already been finished.
For subcontracted projects:
a contractor can only move workflow forwards between the steps that they own, not the workflow steps that have been added by the subcontractor (LSP).
an LSP can only move the workflow between steps assigned to or created by them, and only if the workflow step assigned to them is currently active. They cannot move the workflow if a workflow step assigned to the contractor or another subcontractor is currently active.
if a subcontractor assigns the project to another LSP, any workflow editing (including moving the workflow forwards) remains blocked, the same like in the Old Workflow Editor.
There are many ways to move jobs forwards in the relevant project. You can:
move a single job forwards. To do so, follow the procedure below.
bulk-move all jobs in the selected target language forwards. The jobs do not need to have the same workflow definition. If they meet the criteria described above, they will be moved to the next workflow step. For details, see Moving all jobs in a selected target language forwards in the Overview screen.
move many selected jobs forwards at the same time, no matter whether they have the same target language or different target languages. The jobs do not need to share the same workflow definition. If they meet the criteria described above, they will be moved to the next workflow step. For details, see Moving selected jobs forwards in the Manage jobs view.
For the relevant project, open the Project Editor –
Workflow tab screen.
Ensure that you are working in the Beta Workflow Editor. If you are not, enable it. For details, see Enabling the Beta Workflow Editor.
Display the relevant job in the Manage jobs view. For details, see Viewing jobs in the Manage jobs view.
Result: you are redirected to the Manage jobs view.
If necessary, filter the displayed results. For details, see Filtering jobs in the Manage jobs view.
You can also use the search box to display only relevant jobs. For details, see Searching for jobs in the Manage jobs view.
In the relevant table row, do one of the following:
On the left-hand side of the screen, select the context menu
. Then, in the list, select the Move job option and then Forwards.
Right-click anywhere in the relevant table row. Then, in the list, select the Move job option and then Forwards.
Use the Tab key on your keyboard to navigate to the context menu
in the relevant table row. Next, either press the Space or Enter key on your keyboard to open the context menu. Then, use the arrow up or arrow down keyboard buttons to navigate to the Move job option. Use the arrow right and then the arrow up or arrow down keyboard button to navigate to the Forwards option. Finally, use the Enter key to select this option.
Result: a job is moved forwards to the next workflow step. This means that:
the previous workflow step is marked as completed, and a Linguist who has been assigned to this step can no longer access the content in XTM Workbench.
the next workflow step is now active, and if there is a Linguist assigned to this step, they can already work on the content in XTM Workbench.
if the closed step has been the last step in the workflow, the whole job is marked as finished. In that case, it is not possible to simply move the workflow backwards to reopen the closed step. If you want to:
keep the changes to the content made so far in the last workflow step, you need to reopen the required file. To do so, you must temporarily exit the New Workflow Editor. For details, see Disabling the Beta Workflow Editor and Reopen file.
revert the changes to the content made so far in the last workflow step, you need to roll the job back. To do so, you must temporarily exit the New Workflow Editor. For details, see Disabling the Beta Workflow Editor and Rollback to a previous step in the workflow.