Skip to main content

XTM Cloud 26.2

Limitations of the tracked changes feature

Note

Tracked changes is a Beta feature.

Target segments containing tracked changes which have not yet been accepted (for details, see Accepting tracked changes), or rejected (for details, see Rejecting tracked changes) have these limitations:

  • Find and Replace functionality.

    By default, XTM Workbench does not look for a search phrase in target segments containing tracked changes. To include segments with tracked changes in the search scope, select the Include segments that contain tracked changes checkbox in the Find and replace popup. If you do so, however, some settings in the Find and replace popup will be inactive.

    For details, see Find and replace.

  • QA checker.

    If the tracked changes feature is enabled in the project (for details, see Project Editor – General information: General information), the QA check will only consider:

    • plain text in all segments for which you run the QA check.

    • added text in all segments for which you run the QA check. For details, see Working in Tracking changes mode.

      Tracked_change_added_text

    To avoid false positive results, the deleted text in the segments, for which you run the QA check, will be ignored. (For details, see Working in Tracking changes mode).

    Tracked_change_deleted_text.svg

    For details, see Quality Assurance.

  • Segment filters.

    Target segments containing tracked changes are ignored by some filters, in the Apply filters popup, in XTM Workbench. Additionally, you can use the Segments containing tracked changes checkbox to either display or hide segments containing tracked changes.

    For details, see Apply filters popup.

  • Translation memory (TM).

    If the tracked changes feature is enabled in the project (for details, see Project Editor – General information: General information), a target segment will only be saved or updated in the translation memory when all tracked changes in it have been either accepted (for details, see Accepting tracked changes) or rejected (for details, see Rejecting tracked changes).

    For details, see Translation Memory.

  • Segment history.

    Target segments that contain tracked changes can be displayed in the segment history. However, you cannot restore a segment revision that contains tracked changes from the segment history.

    For details, see History docked panel.

  • Tracked changes in the project files.

    If the tracked changes feature is enabled in the project (for details, see Project Editor – General information: General information), it can affect what you see in the project files (including a preview file and a downloaded target file). If a target segment contains tracked changes that have not yet been accepted (for details, see Accepting tracked changes) or rejected (for details, see Rejecting tracked changes), and:

    • there are revisions in the segment history that do not contain tracked changes; the most recent segment revision without tracked changes will be displayed in the target file.

    • all revisions in the segment history contain tracked changes; the source segment will be displayed in the target file.

    For details, see: