Global Intelligent Workflow settings
Business use case
The Intelligent Workflow feature accelerates time to market by reducing the overall workflow turnaround times and automating workflow decisions based on actual quality data. It also helps reduce translation costs and ensures efficiency in the translation workflow. Intelligent Workflow uses the AI Translate & TQI confidence score to route content automatically. High-confidence jobs skip manual checks, while Linguists only review the low-quality segments.
Note
The AI Translate & TQI feature must be activated in your XTM Cloud instance so that you can enable and use the Intelligent Workflow feature. For details, see Global AI Translate & TQI settings.
At this stage, the Intelligent Workflow feature only works if the After analysis option has been selected for the Send text for translation and scoring setting in the AI Translate & TQI settings. For details, see Managing AI Translate & TQI at global level.
For the best user experience, we recommend using the Intelligent Workflow feature with the new Workflow Editor (Beta). For details, see Project Editor – Beta Workflow Editor.
The Intelligent Workflow feature leverages AI Translate & TQI to power your workflow automation. It helps Project Managers save time and resources by closing unnecessary workflow steps automatically in jobs whose average TQI exceeds the custom Acceptable threshold. A job's average TQI is calculated by adding the scores from all segments and dividing them by the number of segments that have received a score. ICE matches, leveraged (100%) matches, and manual translations by a Linguist are not evaluated by the AI Translate & TQI feature. Consequently, they are not taken into account when calculating a job's average TQI.
However, these two additional requirements must also be met for a workflow step to be closed automatically:
All target segments must be populated with content, either from a translation memory (TM) match or by being translated automatically by AI Translate & TQI. If any target segment in a file is empty, workflow steps cannot be closed automatically for that file.
All target segments in a file must be in the Good quality range. If any target segment in a file has been scored as Non-Acceptable or even Acceptable, workflow steps cannot be closed automatically for that file.
A project's TQI Acceptable threshold is set to 70%. This means segments whose TQI is between 70% and 100% are considered to be in the Good quality range. The source file for a job contains six segments. The first three segments are translated by LLM, with TQI results of 90%, 65% and 70%. Segment 4 has been translated manually by a Linguist. Segment 5 has been filled automatically with an ICE match. Segment 6 was initially LLM-translated, but a Linguist then modified it, so it no longer has a TQI. In this case, the job's average TQI is calculated solely on the basis of the first three segments, as follows:
(90% + 65% + 70%) : 3 = 225 : 3 = 75%
The job's average TQI exceeds the project's Acceptable threshold. However, one of the segments has a TQI result of 65% which is below the Acceptable threshold. This means that workflow steps selected for the Intelligent Workflow feature will not be closed automatically. In situations like this, we would recommend that a Linguist should review the TQI suggestions about this lower-quality segment, in XTM Workbench, and correct the segment accordingly.
To display the Intelligent Workflow section, as a user with the XTM Cloud Administrator role, select Configuration > Settings > AI Control Center. Then, in the AI Control Center tab screen, select the Features sub-tab. Intelligent Workflow is one of the sections displayed in the Features tab screen.
In the Intelligent Workflow section, you see:
the Contact Sales button. It is displayed if the Intelligent Workflow feature has not been enabled for your XTM Cloud instance. Select this button to automatically generate an email message to our Sales team, with which you can request feature activation. Initially, some values in the message you generate are inserted by default, but you can adjust them and add other details to suit your requirements.
the Activated
label. It indicates that the feature is currently active at global level. Project Managers can enable and manage this feature at customer and project levels.
the Manage button. Select it to:
activate Intelligent Workflow at global level. For details, see Activating Intelligent Workflow at global level.
manage the Intelligent Workflow settings at global level. For details, see Managing Intelligent Workflow at global level.
deactivate Intelligent Workflow at global level. For details, see Deactivating Intelligent Workflow at global level.