Skip to main content

XTM Cloud 26.2

Creating a project: Workflow

This section describes mandatory and optional Workflow settings that you can make while creating a project in XTM Cloud.

XTM Cloud offers a number of default workflows. You can select one of the predefined workflow templates for the entire project or different workflows for target languages.

Special characters between the steps mean:

  • , (comma) – two steps can be processed simultaneously.

  • ­­­-> (en dash followed by ­angle bracket) – the bundle in the second step only becomes active when the same bundle in the preceding step has been finished.

  • # (hashtag) – none of the bundles in the second step become active until all the bundles in the preceding step have been finished.

Table 65. Create a project: Workflow settings

Parameter

Description

Mandatory/Optional

Type

Valid values

Main workflow

To specify which tasks are to be performed in this project, select the main workflow from the dropdown. This workflow will be applied for all target languages in the project.

Mandatory

Dropdown

Valid values within a variety of predefined workflow definitions:

  • Translate.

  • Review.

  • Correct.

  • LQA.

  • Approve TM.

  • any custom value set by your XTM Cloud Administrator.

Note

If you have the AI Post-Edit feature enabled in your XTM Cloud instance (for details, see Global AI Post-Edit settings), you can select workflow definitions containing an automatic step that leverages this feature.

Business use case

The AI Post-Edit feature helps you reduce post-editing time and cost while ensuring that the final output meets your required quality standards. A key benefit is its flexibility: an automatic workflow step enables Project Managers to use Large Language Models (LLMs) to enhance various outputs, including human translation (HT), machine translation (MT), and LLM-generated translation. It can be used in either fully automated (LLM-only) or hybrid workflows (HT/MT + LLM).

The AI Post-Edit feature leverages XTM Cloud’s resources. It sends the Translation Memory (TM) for reference and has access to your terminology. Because of this, it can adjust the content's tone and voice automatically, while ensuring that the high-quality output adheres to company terminology and brand voice.

Note

If required, changes to the target segment made by the AI Post-Edit feature can be reverted. To do so, use the workflow rollback feature. For details, see Rollback to a previous step in the workflow.

New source workflow

This setting depends on the for the Pre-processing setting in the Translation section. If you have selected Yes, source segmentation or Yes, new source segmentation, this New source workflow setting is displayed.

Use it to select a workflow for the pre-processing step.

Optional

Dropdown

Valid values within a variety of predefined workflow definitions:

  • Same as main workflow (default).

  • Translate.

  • Review.

  • Correct.

  • LQA.

  • Approve TM.

  • any custom value set by your XTM Cloud Administrator.

Note

If you have the AI Post-Edit feature enabled in your XTM Cloud instance (for details, see Global AI Post-Edit settings), you can select workflow definitions containing an automatic step that leverages this feature.

Note

If required, changes to the target segment made by the AI Post-Edit feature can be reverted. To do so, use the workflow rollback feature. For details, see Rollback to a previous step in the workflow.

Different workflows per target language

If you select the Language specific workflow checkbox, you can select a different workflow and a different due date for each target language in multilingual projects.

Optional

Checkbox

Dropdown

The plus icon circle_plus_sharp_brand_refreshed.svg adds languages and the minus icon circle_minus_sharp_brand_refreshed.svg removes languages.

Valid values within a variety of predefined workflow definitions:

  • Translate.

  • Review.

  • Correct.

  • LQA.

  • Approve TM.

  • any custom value set by your XTM Cloud Administrator.

Note

If you have the AI Post-Edit feature enabled in your XTM Cloud instance (for details, see Global AI Post-Edit settings), you can select workflow definitions containing an automatic step that leverages this feature.

Note

If required, changes to the target segment made by the AI Post-Edit feature can be reverted. To do so, use the workflow rollback feature. For details, see Rollback to a previous step in the workflow.

Automatically finish steps where all segments are green/done

If you select this checkbox, all fully matched files are automatically pushed to another step in the workflow.

Optional

Checkbox

Valid values:

  • Cleared.

  • Selected.

The default is determined by system settings or customer settings.

Note

The customer settings take priority over system settings.

Workflow for non-analysable files

This setting is displayed if your XTM Cloud Administrator has selected the Workflow for non-analysable files checkbox in Workflow options. For details, see Workflow options parameters.

By default, non-analysable files such as images, corrupted files, empty files or files in unsupported file formats are not included in the workflow. To add files of this kind to the workflow, select this checkbox. Then, select the same or a different workflow for them.

Optional

Checkbox

Dropdown

Valid values within a variety of predefined workflow templates:

  • Translate.

  • Review.

  • Correct.

  • LQA.

  • Approve TM.

The default is determined by system settings or customer settings.

Note

The customer settings take priority over system settings.

Note

If you have the AI Post-Edit feature enabled in your XTM Cloud instance (for details, see Global AI Post-Edit settings), you can select workflow definitions containing an automatic step that leverages this feature.

Note

If required, changes to the target segment made by the AI Post-Edit feature can be reverted. To do so, use the workflow rollback feature. For details, see Rollback to a previous step in the workflow.

Require acceptance of task/project

This parameter is displayed if your XTM Cloud Administrator has selected the Require acceptance of task/project checkbox in Linguist workflow options. For details, see Linguist workflow options.

Use the dropdown to change the global setting for your project.

Optional

Dropdown

The default value depends on the system setting.

Valid values are:

  • none.

  • by linguist.

  • by LSP.

  • by linguist and LSP.

Note

By default, the Require acceptance of task/project feature is disabled for Limited Project Managers (LPMs). So, in the projects that LPMs create, Linguists are never required to accept their tasks and LSPs are never required to accept their projects. This can be changed by XTM Support. They can enable your LPMs to create projects with:

  • the default system setting for the Require acceptance of task/project feature. In this case, when LPMs create a project, they can see the system setting, but cannot change it.

  • the same level of access to the Require acceptance of task/project feature as standard Project Managers have. In this case, when LPMs create a project, they can both see and change the system setting.

To request support

Visit our Support Portal.